Heat question

Old 04-04-2009, 02:27 AM
Exclamation Heat question

(SPILLED WATER ON MY KEYBOARD AND CAN ONLY TYPE IN CAPS)

I JUST BOUGHT MY FIRST CAMARO. 1980 Z28. I LIVE IN NEW JERSEY, SO I BOUGHT IT AT A PERFECT TIME (BEGINNING OF SPRING). THE CAR DOES NOT HAVE HEAT HOWEVER. I HAVE UNTILL OCTOBER TO EITHER WORK MY A$$ OFF AND GET A LITTLE BEATER CIVIC OR NEON, OR I CAN PUT $$$ INTO THE CAMARO AND HAVE HEAT, AND THE CAR RUNNING WELL, ETC.
I WAS WONDERING WHAT PARTS I WOULD NEED TO INSTALL HEAT ON A CAMARO ALSO, AROUND HOW MUCH THIS WILL COST ME. (I'M TRYING TO GAUGE WHAT I SHOULD DO IN PREP. FOR THE COLD.)

THANKS FOR THE HELP. I'M A NEWBIE SO GOING TO BE ASKING ALOT TO GET TO KNOW MY CAR BETTER. I HAVE PICS IF YOU CLICK ON MY NAME I'M GUESSING AND LOOK AT THE PROFILE SECTION.

Old 04-04-2009, 05:21 AM
1st Gear Member

doesn't have heat? I thought all cars had heat... does it have it and just doesn't get hot?

Old 04-04-2009, 09:23 AM
April 2011 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

i see the hose from the water pump goes straight to the intake manifold. that hose should go from the water pump to the firewall on the passanger side and another hose should go from the same place on the firewall to the intake. the heater core is supposed to be behind the firewall. some cars they come out through the engine compartment and some from inside the car. most new models it comes out from inside the car under the passanger side dash. heater core is a small radiator that is used to transfer heat. the fan pushes air through the core and into your heater system. it looks like someone either unhooked it because it leaked or took it out to lighten the car. im thinking it was unhooked because of a leak and u will most likely have to put a new heater core in.

ps the hose im talking about is about the size of a garden hose and in your pic it comes up and right into the intake. the blue one.

Last edited by craby; 04-04-2009 at 09:34 AM.
Old 04-04-2009, 05:28 PM