Leaf Springs....so many to choose from!

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2007, 12:15 PM
1st Gear Member
Default Leaf Springs....so many to choose from!

Hey! I'm looking for some overall good leaf springs...roughly around $200-$300. I'm new to this whole fixing up suspension thing so I was wondering what leaf springs are better than others. I'm trying to make my rear stiffer for better cornering, handling, and what not...its a little bouncy back there. This might help a little: 1978 LT 350...I'm all ears! Thanks for the help!

Old 11-02-2007, 07:32 AM
In the Staging Lanes
Default RE: Leaf Springs....so many to choose from!

I just rebuilt my suspension, front & back, but decided to replace the leafs (and coils) with stock springs from Eaton (ordered thru NPD). You should also look into putting Edelbrock IAS Classics all around. If you still have original bushings you should think about replacing them also. I used a mixture of rubber and poly depending on the location.

Old 11-03-2007, 02:12 PM
1st Gear Member

Thanks Bamaro. Yeah, actually just ordered Eaton leaf springs! I've heard IAS classics are one of the best for handling. My other problem (which I posted a topic about) that I lowered the front about 1.5'....and now I'm bottoming out on bumps and potholes....you think I need a coil-over shocks in the front to stop that?

Old 11-29-2007, 12:00 PM
3rd Gear Member

ORIGINAL: 78LT350
you think I need a coil-over shocks in the front to stop that?
no!!!!

I'm really thinking they sold you the wrong springs

Old 12-06-2007, 12:40 AM
1st Gear Member

Ughhhhhh, really?? Well, i ordered the springs from Summit racing....how could they mess something like that up?? Crap...oh well. One of these days I'll figure out what's the spring rate to put in my car. Thanks for the help SS!

Old 12-06-2007, 07:34 AM
In the Staging Lanes

Since you ordered the leafs from Eaton, they should have no problem selling you matching coils for the front.

Old 12-16-2007, 01:42 PM