Transmission help

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2012, 09:38 PM
In the Staging Lanes
Default Transmission help

So I've been just stumped on what's wrong with my transmission. But here is a little background. Also, I am new to this level of repair, I had a jeep that I worked on, but nothing this in depth...

Anyways, I bought my 78 with a 4 speed Saginaw and a 350 motor with a "warped clutch plate", knowing I would eventually need to replace it. Brought it 100 miles to my school apartment. Got new tires and brought it 40 miles to my parents house (they had the tools then). Clutch gave way the last 3 miles and literally coasted home.

Took the transmission off and was astonished on how I drove it to begin with. There was only half the clutch there...

Anyways, I got a new flywheel and clutch; put the rest of my drive train together. Everything went back nicely, got the transmission in without using the bellhouse bolts etc etc.

Now here is my current problem. I initially put the shifter on without properly aligning it, so I never shifted. It sat for 6 weeks while I had the massive lab reports/finals to do. Christmas break I start to trouble shoot it.

Took the shifter off, but dislocated the shifter bar. I finally worked it back to the correct position and put the shifter back on. This time I adjusted the shifter linkages, but the shifter still wasn't shifting right. Noticed when i was unbolting the linkages, the transmission shifted, even though the clutch pedal was not pressed (disconnected, actually). While trying to troubleshoot today, I noticed, the middle shift hole would not budge at all. Turned the reverse shift hole and then it would move. Everytime I tightened the reverse rod, it shifts in gear, locking up my shifter.

Questions:

1. Is it a problem that I can change gears while the clutch is not pressed?
2. If it is not a problem, how do I attach all the rods without shifting it into reverse, locking my shifter?