Summer Restoration Project

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2011, 11:36 PM
Default Summer Restoration Project

This summer I am going to begin hunting for a (preferably 1970 to 1973) Camaro by perusing the back roads looking for rust buckets in need of restoration so I can restore it into a show car

I am only 16, however, don't count me out. I know its a long, expensive road, and I want to get on it as soon as I can.

Currently I drive a 2007 Ford Mustang v6 Auto, and my close family is strictly Ford and Lincoln with the exception of my father's 2010 Chevy Silverado 3500 Dually. Which means - I have no experience with Chevy cars - but I am VERY eager to learn. I want to do all the work myself, with the help of my friends, my uncle who owns a body shop, and my cousin who recently began restoration of an SS Chevelle.

Preferably, when I find a body to start working on, it won't have an engine.
My uncle can fabricate parts, and has access to scrap yards so I can find parts for cheap and learn to fabricate the ones that I can't get.

I'll probably have a body found by mid June

So - for now - I want to know if there is anything special for me to look for in my hunt for a barn find. I also want to know what a fair cash offer would be when I go looking.

The condition I want it to be in is bare bones.

Thanks, guys

I hope to be hearing from you all and learning more and more about these cars soon

Old 03-20-2011, 08:58 AM
2nd Gear member

well, special cars are worth more. You should master the vin codes and try to find a Z28 or SS.

The less rust the more the car is worth, but I would think $500 to $1500. Way closer to the $500 if it is really stripped and sitting in a field.

Old 03-20-2011, 10:55 AM
Second Generation Moderator
Feb 2010 ROTM winner
Jan 2013 ROTM winner
ROTM Winner's Club

Welcome Hotblood!