Should I buy it?

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2008, 05:59 PM
Default Should I buy it?

Hey everyone- cool forum....

So, I am receiving about $4,000 from financial aid, and finally can get a car- (lost my last one).

Had in mind to get a well running, reliable car, was looking at Lexus or Legend, 1991-1996. Happened to see a nice looking 1975 Camaro yesterday for sale, (got a test drive, talked to the owner. Mileage is right below 100K (HOW DO I CONFIRM MILEAGE???), V6, he just redid the interior with new leather (whole car is black and orange combo), non-power windows, slight wear and tear on interior besides nice leather. Took it on the freeway- I am not an expert, but compared to the few Camaro's of similar year that I used to ride in, it felt very solid. It felt pretty smooth. Sorry, wish I had pics....New paint looks pretty nice-well done, solid body one minor scrape, ... Said he had it at 3,500 but will take no lower than 2,900 for time reasons....Will pay for a diagnostic before I buy...
SHOULD I BUY IT? My responsible fiance actually says she feels that I should buy it, in spite of it's age....She owns a new Pontiac Vibe for long drives....

ANY RESPONSE WOULD BE WONDERFUL- ANY RANDOM INPUT- WHATEVER-

THANKS!!!!!!!!!
Jesse

Old 09-29-2008, 07:44 PM
BackseatBob
Default RE: Should I buy it?

If it runs well, V6 or nota '75 for that price that's a good solid car is a good buy I'd say. If you're willing tp buy it and take care of it properly then go for it. As for the mileage, I don't believe you could reset the odometer on those old things very easily so I doubt it would be any more than 100,000 miles. It'd make a good candidate for a erbuild if you'd like but it will probably do just fine. A V8 swap would be fun too.Go for it, those old Camaros are great, you'll fall in love with it!

Old 09-30-2008, 07:19 AM
In the Staging Lanes