questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2006, 05:49 PM
HELP ME TOM CRUISE
Yaaarrrrrr
Default questions

Hello, total newbie to the camaro world. I am mechanically inclined, rebuilds, honing etc... But, I dont understand somethings about my new car. Just got a 69 sedan. I will figure out all the codes later, what I need to learn is the shifting. I cant find reverse or any other gear. What I have on the floor is something that looks like a standard stick shifter, however there is no clutch so I know its an automatic. I can feel the gears, or what I would think are the gears, when I move it around. Its a 'Hurst' shifter. The engine will idle and sit still, when I give it gas it lurches forward, so I think its in a gear. What gear? 'D'? '1'? where is nuetral? The other problem is the brakes - none, pedal goes all the way to the floor, I am thinking to bleed them and that might do it. Is there anything unique about Camaro that I should try instead? The PO just put in all new stuff, Master Cylinder, power booster, lines etc... I am thinking the bleeding should do it. The is a line going to the carb, I am not sure its the right location on it though, chiltons is kinda vague and tells me nothing about the power booster. Also, how/where do I find info on what model it is IE, Z28, SS etc... All I know from the 'plate' is that it came from the 'N' factory with a V-8, the plate is vague on color and trim etc... Thanks for any info.

Old 10-21-2006, 09:53 AM
HELP ME TOM CRUISE
Yaaarrrrrr
Default RE: questions

Anyone ?

Old 10-22-2006, 10:29 PM
HELP ME TOM CRUISE
Yaaarrrrrr

OK, I found nuetral. I will figure out 1,2 and 3 later once the brakes are fixed. Didnt get any info from any one, a bunch of people looked though, thanks for looking.... I guess. Oh yeah, its supposed to be fathom green color, ewww.

Old 10-30-2006, 12:17 PM
3rd Gear Member