Newbie question about 67-69 Camaro

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2005, 11:42 PM
Default Newbie question about 67-69 Camaro

Hello, newbie here. I've been drooling over 67-69 Camaros; I recently sold my car, and I'm thinking about getting one of these bad boys. But, I don't know anything about Camaros and I have zero experience with classic American cars, so I have some newbie questions.

1) Leaded gas was phased out in 73 I believe, so a Camaro of these years would required leaded gas? If so is there some sort of conversion that needs to be done so it could run on unleaded gas? How much would this cost?

2) I'm in Kalifornia, where the weather is nice, women have implants, and government have regulations about everything. I'm pretty sure 67-69 won't require smog and all that, but if I import one from out of state (say one that's not exactly "stock"), will they look under the hood anyway and go... hey, that's not original, and smack me in the face with some law? My current impression is that as long as it's before 75, and it's not shooting flames out of the exhaust, you just pay the registration fees and no questions asked.

3) Anyone with positive and/or negative experiences with this car that would like to share?

Thanks a lot.

Old 12-30-2005, 01:46 AM
In the Staging Lanes
Default RE: Newbie question about 67-69 Camaro

i know the 69 Z28's had a 302 in them and were the only chevy car with a 302 but those camaros were still awesome

Old 12-30-2005, 01:52 AM
In the Staging Lanes

they also cost an arm and aleg though

Old 12-31-2005, 06:26 PM
2nd Gear member

ORIGINAL: fishtaco

1) Leaded gas was phased out in 73 I believe, so a Camaro of these years would required leaded gas? If so is there some sort of conversion that needs to be done so it could run on unleaded gas? How much would this cost?

2) I'm in Kalifornia,

where the weather is nice, women have implants

3) Anyone with positive and/or negative experiences with this car that would like to share?