New member with a fun project

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2009, 04:29 AM
Default New member with a fun project

Hey everyone. I'm just now seeing this site, and while I know almost everything there is to know about my current car (chevy cobalt), I'm new to older cars and RWD cars, especially when it comes to supporting mods. I have some exploring and searching to do, but I was wondering if anyone had some suggestions for the camaro.

Me and a friend just recently purchased a 1978 Camaro (not much is known about the car yet). We currently have about $7k to work with for this car, and our only real must is that we want to put a 454 BBC in place of the 350 it currently has. I'm not sure on the tranny (my friend has most of the information), but I believe its a 3 speed auto trans.
My questions are:
Does anyone know a place that sells cheaper 454's (the only site i know of is crateenginedepot.com)?
Will this trans, with a rebuild, hold up to the torque of the 454? If not, are there any recommended upgrades? (preferably something with more gears)
What differential should we go with? (ford 9" is the standard for high power builds, correct?)
Does anyone have any further advice?

Last edited by HunterKiller89; 07-30-2009 at 04:31 AM.
Old 07-30-2009, 06:46 PM
Second Generation Moderator
Feb 2010 ROTM winner
Jan 2013 ROTM winner
ROTM Winner's Club

$7k is a petty good start to get you into an engine and trans, but not much more. If you're mechanically inclined and can do a engine build, I'd go with a wrecking yard 454 and build from that. If you checke someplace like Craig's List, you might find a decent long block, or possibly even a complete good motor. That would save a bunch.