New Guy, Need Some Opinions

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2011, 01:08 PM
Default New Guy, Need Some Opinions

Hey Guys, im new to the Camaro. I have had a 95 3.4l and i have had a 79 with a 396. I didn't explore much with them because i was younger and I didnt have the money or time. I recently purchased a 1980 or 1981 as the guy told me, but it looks like my 79 body style. I am not sure when chev change the body style. Anyways, i bought it from a buddy and it sat in the field for probably ten years. Im from Wisconsin, so rust is a factor here. I do not have pics of the car,but i will describe the car the best i can until i have pics. The trunk is solid, there is rust on the rear fenders just on the edges. Body is straight and little dents. I tore he carpet up in the interior, and there is a hole in both floor pans in the front big enough to put a softball through. There is rust around he holes but mostly solid. It dont look like swiss cheese, mostly looks like two big holes. I have never done body work, but i would really like to learn. It wont be a super show car, but i would like to clean it up. If there are holes like that, is the body savable? I know these cars are unibody, so you cant replace panels as easy. The motor is a 350, not sure of the year, but on the pass. side one of the cylinders has rust in it. It is obviously locked up. What should i do. I paid 500 for it. Would like to learn and make this car alive again Thanks in advance

Old 06-27-2011, 02:59 PM

bump... hey i tried to look at some pics on the forum and it said that i couldn't look at them cuz of some option turned off or something... what do i need to do to look at the pics?

Old 06-27-2011, 03:24 PM
2nd Gear member