Needs Help

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2009, 10:21 PM
Default Needs Help

I was looking for some advice about buying/semi restoring a camaro. I am new to the car world and really know very little. When i say restoring I dont mean fully and to original standards. I am interested in just building a fun and respectfully fast car with an interior i could live with. I was thinking a 1976 or 1977. Im not sure what i should be looking for as i search, as my skills and tools are limited i dont want to get something way over my head. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

Old 02-24-2009, 07:23 PM
3rd Gear Member

Why a 76 or 77? Those were some pretty bad years for HP ratings.

Old 02-24-2009, 07:57 PM

I like the body on those years, and figured because of their bad HP ratings I could find one on the cheaper side. Also I figure that the engine will need redone anyway so why would it matter about the original HP ratings?

Old 02-24-2009, 08:19 PM
3rd Gear Member

Well, you say your skills and tools are limited so I would assume you wouldn't want a lot of work in the engine and drive train department. Tackling an engine swap by yourself with limited tools can be a pretty daunting challenge. While it takes basic tools (besides and engine lift and preferably an engine stand) to do it it's still something that I wouldn't recommend to someone starting out.