Major Issues

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2009, 04:10 PM
In the Staging Lanes
Default Major Issues

My 1979 z28 seems to be having more issues than most small countries, My two biggest problems are that my car overheats on warm days (which is everyday around here) and the motor skips on i believe 3 cylinders, And I adjusted the valves in the beginning and I'm new at this, so maybe I just don't know what the heck i'm doing but, I started cheap and replaced the rotor, rotor button, and distributor cap. It's a fully rebuilt motor and I don't know where to go from here, I was told my next best test would be to do a leakdown test, to see if any air goes past the piston's or if the valves are adjusted to tightly and causing the skip.

About the motor overheating, I don't know if the skip could have something to do with this, or if something else is wrong. It only overheats when I'm running 45-above. Also to throw in, i was told by the previous owner that the car ran around 2400 rpm at 60mph, but ever since I can remember it was around 4000. Maybe I just don't remember when I first got it and it did run around 2400 or if it was 4000. I don't know where to go from here, any and all help is appreciated.

Old 07-06-2009, 08:49 PM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

To tight a valve will show up on a compession test. Misses can be tuff to figure out and overheating is not something you want to do to many times before you get it fixed. I would pressure test the coolant system for starters. What type of fan system do you have? Basic, Clutch, flex?
Maybe you should just break down and take to a mechanic.

Old 07-06-2009, 09:03 PM
In the Staging Lanes

Its a clutch fan that was replaced last year. And i would take to a mechanic, but its the only car I have to drive right now. Now that i think about it my coolant resovoir has a hole in it, and it doesn't hold nearly enough coolant in it, could that be a cause for overheating?