Got any advice?

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2007, 12:35 PM
Default Got any advice?

I got a 78 camaroand i want to put a 454 if not bigger engine in it and i was wondering if you knew what type of transmission would be able to take that much horsepower and torque. i know i am gonna have to replace the rear axel and drive shaft as well as the torque converter.if you guys can give me some advice on what type of transmission if not any brands. this is my first time doing a project this big and any advice to not screw up will be appreciated.

Old 11-01-2007, 04:19 PM
July 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club
Default RE: Got any advice?

i started out with a 350 ,ended up with a 400.the 350 was a basic rebuild with a shift kit,couldn't handle it.haven't had a problem since i put the 400 in it .i haven't had a problem with the rearend yet but that will probably be next.i'm not saying a 350 can't handle a big block but the one i had couldn't.i'm putting out about 450-500 hp

Old 11-02-2007, 06:30 AM

ORIGINAL: bowtieguy

i started out with a 350 ,ended up with a 400.the 350 was a basic rebuild with a shift kit,couldn't handle it.haven't had a problem since i put the 400 in it .i haven't had a problem with the rearend yet but that will probably be next.i'm not saying a 350 can't handle a big block but the one i had couldn't.i'm putting out about 450-500 hp
cool i will look into it. thanks.

Old 11-02-2007, 07:00 AM
June 2007 ROTM

well the real question is how much hp are you going to have? 350 will handle but a 400 is real good for handling hp. as for the drive shalf u shld only have to change that if its not the correct lengh. The alxes I wldnt touch unless u have 1000hp.

Old 11-02-2007, 07:58 AM
July 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club