dragging.

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2010, 02:54 PM
Default dragging.

well to start off with i'm gonna race a friend on a drag strip... well the problem is i have never done it before on the actual strip.... i'm working with a 4 speed 1977 z28 350 381hp.... the real problem is the pre burnout before the race .. do i just pop the clutch and go forward of what??? what's the process in the pre burnout with a manual transmission ... thanks

Old 02-06-2010, 04:18 PM
Second Generation Moderator
Feb 2010 ROTM winner
Jan 2013 ROTM winner
ROTM Winner's Club

The burnout is done to warm up your tires, so it depends on how much heat you need to get them sticky. Usually you'd have a line lock and after getting through the water you simply lock the front brakes, get the tires spinning, and release it. After you pass the lights you usually let off and stop. Then back up behind the lights, but not back to the water!
Since you don't have a line lock (I presume) you should simply roll through the water, push in the clutch and stop, then rev your engine to 3,000-4,000 and sidestep the clutch. Once through the lights you can stop and back up to begin staging.
One other hint (again because you've got a stick and no line lock) you should stage carefully, and not too deep! As you slowly roll into the staging lights watch carefully for the first light to come on. Once it lights up, forget the throttle, and just ease the clutch out slightly until it starts to pull the car. Then keep your right foot on the brake slightly and push the clutch in as soon as the second light comes on.
If you roll through the second light while staging, the first light will go out, and you will get an immediate red light, which means you just lost the race. You don't want to lose for any reason, but definitely not that way!
Good luck!

Old 02-06-2010, 04:19 PM
Tech Droid