79 One wheel wonder to Posi

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2007, 12:14 AM
Default 79 One wheel wonder to Posi

Hello all...I am new to the camaro forum and had few questions I was hoping you guys could help me out with. I have a 79 Camaro and it is a one wheel wonder with 28 splines and over 450 hp. Needless to say but the rearend has blown 3 times..Big surprise I know. I was going to go with a eaton posi with a full rebuild kit and 3.73 or 4.11 gears. Its a 4 speed so 3.73 would probably be a little better on driveability. Cost has become an issue so I am looking for a affordable option

I found a posi carrier on e-bay for next to nothing its part ##410408n. Would this be a direct swap? Would I be able to run the gear ratios above? I am going to get a full rebuild kit for the rearend as well as new ring and pinion. Anything else you would reccomend..

Thanks for your before hand

Old 04-10-2007, 12:42 AM
Default RE: 79 One wheel wonder to Posi

Well I found out the rearend will work after do a little internet searching plus it is a 3 series unit that will take the gears I am looking to put in. I can get the ring and pinion for $140, rebuild kit for $130 and I am hoping to score the posi carrier for $150 or less. Now my question is this. $420 for the piece mealI am talking about or I can get a eaton posi with rebuild kit and gears for $630...I am thinking the eaton will take the punishment of 450hp a little better....Any input?

Old 04-10-2007, 01:39 AM
February 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

You did not say but I assume the car has a 10 bolt unit in it. Considering you have ruined three sets of gears perhaps you need to switch to a 12 bolt differential. If you are racing the car save some headaches and spool it.

Old 04-10-2007, 11:34 AM