79 Camaro High oil pressure blow out gaskets

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2014, 02:02 PM
Default 79 Camaro High oil pressure blow out gaskets

Alright so This is the deal with the car. I got it as a STEAL! I traded my broken down truck for this triple black 79 350. It has edlebrock 1406 carb with the "top end" package as well. Who ever did the work on this car was a jerk. They had wires all over, gaskets missing, gaskets leaking with gasket maker all over the new gaskets not allowing them to seat properly. So I have been driving it for about 2 months. I wasnt beating on it all that much. But after i got it on the road id eventually hit 130 or so. Started leaking oil. Drip here, drip there. Then I was driving down the highway goin about 65 and smelled oil. Engine compartment on drivers side was soaked in oil! I mean it was spraying like a fire hydrant, only on the highway, not in town just cruising. Replaced fuel pump, plate gasket, pump gasket. Still sprayed. Tracked it to the timing cover gasket. Replaced. Sealed up the fuel pump push rod front engine hole as well. Started it up and still dripping, now from front of oil pan. I will fix that. The problem is that The oil pressure got soo high just idling(gauge said 60 at idle 80 if i rev) that the mechanical oil pressure gauge line burst under the dash and on my damn foot! So I dropped the oil filter and checked the oil pressure bypass valve and it seemed okay. So im guessing oil pump regulator spring? The oil pressure is high until warm then drops to around 10-15 and tops at 50 when I am really accelerating. Any ideas what to do? I have very little extra money so taking it to a shop is pretty much out of the question for me. Any insight would be much appreciated! I cant stand looking at it and not driving it. Its upsetting as all hell.

Old 06-14-2014, 06:27 PM
Tech Droid