What do I look for in a 69?

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2008, 01:44 AM
Default What do I look for in a 69?

Hi, I'm new with this forum, Just registered. I found a 69 Camaro at a county auction thats looks to be in good shape (body wise). I dont know how it runs or anything and we're not allowed to test drive. I am however allowed to start it up. My question is what do I look for with this car to make sure its cool to purchase? I'm new to older cars and dont know what to look for. I dont know to much about the car other than its a stick and a 327. Tomorrow I plan on going to look at it and start it up. If anyone can help me on this it'd be much appreciated. I'll have the vin and pic's tomorrow if anyone would like me to post either of them. Thanks ahead of time!

Old 03-10-2008, 04:52 AM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club
Default RE: What do I look for in a 69?

There really no way to explain to someone in a post what all to look for when purchasing a car. No mater what make or model. Do you know anyone that is a real mechanic? maybe you could pay them to go look at the car for you. Also What yhou want to look for depend on what is important to you.

Common issues would include: Rust almost everywhere, Many of these car look decent but then need a complete restore. This is from years of cosmedic only repairs. As for the engine, well if you where looking at a 2002 we could list a bunch of issues to look for but on a 69 there is just no way of know whats in it? Most of these cars did not make it out of the 70s with there original engines. The car could easly be on its 4th drive line.