My Father's 1969 Camaro (sorry it's long)

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2010, 07:09 PM
Default My Father's 1969 Camaro (sorry it's long)

Hello all,

I'm new to this forum and I'm new to the process of fixing up a car. My father bought this 1969 stock Camaro (it's not a z or a SS) in Sept of 1969 when I was five years old. I can recall the day he bought it and being on the car lot as he picked it out. It was the first car I drove after getting my driver's license and I drove it hard for 6-8 years and racked up about 166,000 miles on it. It's a straight six 250. I want to fix it up and getting back to being road worthy and looking good. I don't care if it's a garage queen/car show quality vehicle. I have no interest at all in bringing out on the car show circuit, I don't plan to race with it, I just want a nice car that I can enjoy driving. The car sat out in the weather for many years. From 1988 until now it sat in a garage. I now have it with me in my garage in Pennsylvania.

My issue is this: I don't have much knowledge with cars, I'm not talented with cars however I'm willing to learn to do things on my own and will do what I can. The unfortunate thing is that I'm extremely limited in what I can do by myself lacking knowlege or experience at working with cars. I recently took it to a classic car restoration shop and they quoted me at about $100,000 to do my car. I thought this was a bit outrageous for a car that I have no interest in making into a car show quality car. It has rust on all the front and rear panels, the panels under the doors, the dashboard near the front window, the rear deck near the rear window, the trunk has a little rust and the driver's side floor pan is completely rusted through. The interior is in very fine condition except for the headliner and the rug. Seats, dash, console are all in great shape.