Buying a 69'

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2007, 08:40 PM
dbx
In the Staging Lanes
Default Buying a 69'

Hi guys. I'm not new to forums, but I'm brand new to this one!

I've owned a 79' Z and a 84' T-top model camaro in past years (I'm 48), but I'm really a newbie when it comes to cars. I've always wanted a 69' SS/RS, and I'm pretty serious about buying one. I've read a bit about them, but I know zero in the scheme of things. I'd consider buying one with no eng or tran...or a complete one that needs a ton of work. In other words, I'd like to get started somewhere around 3K-5K. Is this possible? And where should I start looking? I've looked in Auto Trader type mags and on-line, but most of those are mostly restored and cost major bucks.

Can you guys point me in the right direction? Any advice is welcome.

Thanks,

Kevin

Old 04-02-2007, 08:55 PM
June 2007 ROTM
Default RE: Buying a 69'

its possible but ur not gonna find anything real good. Maybe a shell that needs all the metal. auto trader, on here, stay OFF ebay.

Old 04-02-2007, 09:10 PM
dbx
In the Staging Lanes

ORIGINAL: Matts01ES

its possible but ur not gonna find anything real good. Maybe a shell that needs all the metal. auto trader, on here, stay OFF ebay.
I see high school kids driving them. Some decent, others not so decent. And I know their parents (or themselves) didn't pay much for them. And yeah, I've been on Ebay as well. I'm leary of it, but I know people who have bought vehicles sight unseen and got a decent deal. Not a good idea you say?

Btw, thanks for the response! I'm new here, but I'll be around quite a bit trying to learn from the different threads that interest me.

Old 04-02-2007, 09:13 PM
June 2007 ROTM

I wouldnt buy anything off ebay, too many scammers on there.

Again u can find em, but man u got becareful, look at everything look underneath the car the truck the floor all that make sure what ur buying is worth it.

Old 04-02-2007, 09:48 PM
1st Gear Member