Also newbie...396 info needed..etc!! Help!

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2008, 11:36 AM
Default Also newbie...396 info needed..etc!! Help!

Hey all! I finally bought my dream 68 Camaro!!!She hasa 396, the normal Super Sport insignia (as so many now days do), appears to be all original interior etc. My plan is to restoreit to mostly original condition. I am new to this and have been online for two weeks trying to figure out the following questions:

1. How can I figure outthe exact enginethis carcame off the line with?

2. Is there a website that I canenter my Vin#, Trim, engine, protect codesetc to getmoreinfo?Such asthe originalhood? Extras on production? Whether I actually have a SS? Or is it a RS/Z28 etc?

3. How can Ifind out if all my numbers are matching?

I amobviously new and need all the help I can get! Thank you in advance for any advice given!!!

Rob

Old 10-08-2008, 12:36 PM
Senior Moderator
January 2010 ROTM Winner
Default RE: Also newbie...396 info needed..etc!! Help!

This website is a good starting point:
http://www.chevy-camaro.com/

Old 10-10-2008, 12:22 PM
HELP ME TOM CRUISE
Yaaarrrrrr

kona, welcome to the site. What info do you have now? You mentioned the 'protect codes' do you have the protecto plate? If so you will get alot of info from it. The trim tag will tell you some but not really what you want to know, but its a start. There really isnt a site to plug your vin into, these cars are older and the vin's on them arent as informative as ones today.
Do you have any pictures? WHat does the front end look like? this will tell if its an RS or not. we can help you narrow it down, but without the protecto plate there will be a lot of unanswered questions.

Old 10-10-2008, 12:23 PM
HELP ME TOM CRUISE
Yaaarrrrrr

PS, I almost forgot, there is a build sheet. It well tell you everything you want to know. Check above the fuel tank or behind the rear seat for it. Good luck.

Old 10-13-2008, 05:15 PM