69 327 idle & backfiring

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2010, 08:54 PM
Default 69 327 idle & backfiring

ive taken on a project for a friend recently getting his drop top camaro running thats been in a barn for 30 years. its a 327 with a rochester 2 barrel. i changed all fluids and gave it a thorough carb cleaning. started it up today and it would rev good but not idle but it would also backfire out the carb when it killed.

im a motorcycle guy, not vintage car so im no expert. would this maybe need a timing adjustment of valve lash adjustment?
thanks -sam

Old 08-04-2010, 09:24 PM
Senior Moderator
January 2010 ROTM Winner

I would definitely rebuild the carb, since it's been sitting for so many years. It's probably gummed up, has sediment, and/or has dried out gaskets and a poor working needle and seat.
And assuming it has the original style distributor, replacing the points, condenser, cap, rotor, and wires just may do wonders for it (with an emphasis on the points).
Do the lifters make noise? If not, then I wouldn't be suspecting the valves or lifters just yet.

Old 08-04-2010, 09:59 PM
Y2K
4th Gear Member

30 years is a long time,no doubt that carb will need a rebuild and I'd be concerned with rust and crap in the gas tank so a couple inline filters might be a good idea to protect the newly rebuilt carb.
Any idea why it has been parked since so long ago or how many miles are on it or if the motor has been rebuilt at any time?
I mean even 30 years back it was far from a new car or even a late model,it could have a bad timing chain or who knows what that may have been why it was parked.
I wouldn't have started it without a good ****** of diesel throughout the whole engine to loosen up any rusted and stuck valves or rings or lifters etc.

Old 08-04-2010, 10:33 PM
1st Gear Member

If you give it the diesel ****** do it at night...gets a little smokey when you fire it up.

Old 08-05-2010, 07:50 AM