68 questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2007, 05:53 PM
Default 68 questions

I am a Newbie with alot of questions. I have a 68 that is a solid body but it has a tired motor and worn out suspension front and rear.. I plan on changing the subframe to aftermarket along with adding a four link in the rear with subframe conectors. Basically I want the car to look like a 68 but drive like a new sports car. I am looking at either TCI or Heidts, products though thereare many more out there. Any advice will be helpfull. I have talked with a couple of custom rod shops and they have recomended the TCI products due to the strength.
I also would like to know if I can upgrade to a 69 column so I have a locking steering column?
I will also be adding aftermarket Air conditioning, power windowsand other upgrades.
Chime in and give me some advice on all of this.
Chuck

Old 08-20-2007, 06:33 PM
1st Gear Member
Default RE: 68 questions

4-link rear suspension is for drag racing, not a sports car feel. Some say that the beefed up set of springs will improve the ride without stiffening the result. That's why I'm trying the Hotchkis springs. I've gotten some good feedback from other on these new springs. If you're looking for a sports car ride then look into a touring package for your car.

Old 08-20-2007, 07:39 PM
1st Gear Member

You could also start with the '69 Z/28 suspension parts from Chevy (or similar from others) and then add on from there. When I bought my '69 Z/28 new, I chose that over a SS package because the Z/28 was essentially a production version of an SCCA Trans Am Sedan racer, so great handling, very little body roll, great car for straightening out curves, definately that sports car feel.
Clyde

Old 08-23-2007, 09:47 PM