LT1/LT4 Tech 1993-1997

beginner beginning a project.

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2012, 04:21 PM
Default beginner beginning a project.

i am in the process of a starting a PROJECT .
1994 z28. no engine/trans.
My question is what all is involved in putting an engine and transmission in the car? there is no wiring harness. interior is complete. the car is a factory auto. what will i need. I am new to such a big project. ive installed engines in trucks with the same engines never started with an empty engine bay.
Im thinking i want to go with a 350 and a 4l60e in mind.
I am assuming i will need an ecu engine harness mounts.

Old 10-14-2012, 07:06 PM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

The easiest thing to do is to install the correct year engine back in. These cars are designed around the motor. Putting anything in there except what was designed will require you to "make" parts that do not exist. If you really want of "build" a car sell the 4th gen and buy a 3rd gen. The 3rd gens where built when GM still had the "standard" Small block design and there is parts for just about everything.

Old 10-14-2012, 07:15 PM
April 2011 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

you will need a 94 z28 engine compartment wiring harness, a 94 z28 auto ecu/ecm, a lt1 and a 4l60e. you should make sure that the wiring inside the car is complete and your not missing other parts in the engine area. easiest way would be to look at another 94 z28 to compare. maybe take some pics

Last edited by craby; 10-14-2012 at 07:26 PM.
Old 10-14-2012, 07:17 PM
Overdrive Member
Technical User

i have a ton of pics of my 94Z with the engine out pm me and ill send them to you if you want.

Old 10-15-2012, 10:32 AM
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by Kraker
i am in the process of a starting a PROJECT .
1994 z28. no engine/trans.

My question is what all is involved in putting an engine and transmission in the car?