Activity Stream: Show All | New Threads | New Posts | New Pictures | Popular Threads | Lonely Threads | Vendor Threads | New Picture Comments | New Profile Comments |
Search:  
Go Back   Camaro Forums - Chevy Camaro Enthusiast Forum > Fourth Generation (1993-2002) > 93-02 General
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 02-01-2011, 12:28 PM
In the Staging Lanes
No cars in Hazard29's garage, add now
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 33
iTrader: (0)
Default TPS installation on 1997 LT1 help!

Have any of you guys ever changed the TPS on the LT1 motors?

I believe when you put the TPS back on, you need to install it a certain way. If you just bolt it right back up, I know that doesn't always work.

I removed mine last week because the car has been acting up so I took off the TPS to clean it and when I installed it again, the check engine light came on and the car wouldn't shift properly. After hours of messing with it, a mechanic came over and discovered that it wasn't seated in there properly when I re-installed it. He had to turn that dial on the inside of the TPS and get it on that way, once he did the check engine light shut off and the car began shifting as normal so clearly I did something wrong when I put it back on. The car is still acting up and I thought about buying another TPS but I am afraid that I won't be able to get it back on properly again.

What is the trick to installing these??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-01-2011, 03:27 PM
Massey's Avatar
Overdrive Member
1999 Chevrolet Camaro
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Spanaway, WA
Posts: 3,354
iTrader: (0)
Default

Define "Acting UP" and what are your codes if any? The TPS if it starts failing will throw codes with or without a failed test cycle since it is always inputting data to the PCM. I hate when people throw parts at a car with out knowing for sure what is wrong.

Massey
__________________
A Veteran is some one who at one point in his or her life wrote a blank check made payable to the government for any amount up to and including my life.

Remember Freedom is not Free!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-01-2011, 03:46 PM
Camaro 69's Avatar
Senior Moderator
January 2010 ROTM Winner
No cars in Camaro 69's garage, add now
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The 'Burbs of Chicago
Posts: 16,760
iTrader: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Massey View Post
I hate when people throw parts at a car with out knowing for sure what is wrong.
Massey
But don't you sell parts for a living? You should love it.
__________________


393 Stroker, Tunnel Ram, Dual Holley's
"I only live for today, but I'm one day behind"

Eats Rice and Poops Out Fords.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-01-2011, 05:39 PM
In the Staging Lanes
No cars in Hazard29's garage, add now
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 33
iTrader: (0)
Default

there are no codes on the car now but when the TPS was giving me issues from the incorrect install, it was throwing the code p0122- which is " the cars computer has detected that the TPS (throttle position sensor) is reporting too low a voltage. "
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-01-2011, 07:28 PM
MelloYello's Avatar
2nd Gear member
1996 Chevrolet Camaro
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cleveland OH
Posts: 319
iTrader: (0)
Secret
Default

correct! the transmission DOES use the TPS as an input sensor. it took da place of the throttle valve cable. im not suprised your trans isnt shifting properly. the TPS on them throttle bodies is adjustable.. it is adjustable based on the locations of the 2 screws that hold it on. should of been marked prior to removal.
i found this on another forum site, direct copy and paste from camaroz28 forum, user Inuneer- http://www.camaroz28.com/forums/show....php?p=6046632

For the TPS sensor, measure the voltage across the blue and black wires. At closed throttle, the voltage should be between 0.20-0.90V. The PCM checks the voltage at startup, and sets whatever it sees as the "0%" baseline voltage and pro-rates from there for percent throttle opening. Stock, unmolested sensors generally read about 0.65-0.67V. Some people feel there's something special about setting it so a specific value like 0.50V, but I've never found that to be the case.

haha i always cite my sources lol
__________________

1996 Camaro y87- FINALLY SOLD...
2003 Blazer ZR2: 31x10.5 BFG A/T tires, catalytic converter low efficiency code, and clear turn signals
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-01-2011, 07:34 PM
In the Staging Lanes
No cars in Hazard29's garage, add now
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 33
iTrader: (0)
Default

so again I ask, What is the trick to installing these?? How do I correctly install a new TPS?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-01-2011, 08:26 PM
MelloYello's Avatar
2nd Gear member
1996 Chevrolet Camaro
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cleveland OH
Posts: 319
iTrader: (0)
Secret
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hazard29 View Post
so again I ask, What is the trick to installing these?? How do I correctly install a new TPS?
like i just said in my last post... put the new sensor on the throttle body, with the screws loose enough to make the TPS pivot on its mounting screws. and get out your multi-meter.. back-probe the blue and black wires... with the throttle closed, adjust the 'arm' on the TPS by turning the sensor until the multimeter reads somewhere between 0.20V-0.90V

seems like a deja-vu post
__________________

1996 Camaro y87- FINALLY SOLD...
2003 Blazer ZR2: 31x10.5 BFG A/T tires, catalytic converter low efficiency code, and clear turn signals
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-02-2011, 08:10 AM
craby's Avatar
April 2011 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club
1993 Chevrolet Camaro
My Garage
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tokeland, Washington
Posts: 17,451
iTrader: (0)
Default

its been a while, you need to slide it on without the screws in at all, it will be a tad offset clock wise to the lined up position, about 1 o'clock, should slide in but with the spongy thing you will have to hold it in, once in turn till screw holes line up. put the screws in. if your uncertain install without the spongy thing first to give you an idea of the proper position it needs to be in, then install using the sponge.
__________________

93 z28, 4 bolt block,le2 heads,le intake,58mm bbk,223/230 565/565 112,cc 1.6 rr,moroso cai & 5.5 oil pan, kooks headers&cated y,corsa cat back,patc raptor level 3 trany,2000 stall 2.5x converter&trans cooler,30# red top injectors,lt1pcmtuning tune, koni double adj, spohns 9in moser rearend, tunnel brace torque arm, shock tower brace, panhard bar, rear lower control arms, subframe connectors & hp driveline.

Last edited by craby; 02-02-2011 at 08:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-02-2011, 12:03 PM
Massey's Avatar
Overdrive Member
1999 Chevrolet Camaro
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Spanaway, WA
Posts: 3,354
iTrader: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camaro 69 View Post
But don't you sell parts for a living? You should love it.

I do sell parts, I like to sell parts, it is the returns I hate! And worse yet when I have to tell them they are idiots and cant return used electrical parts.

Massey
__________________
A Veteran is some one who at one point in his or her life wrote a blank check made payable to the government for any amount up to and including my life.

Remember Freedom is not Free!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-02-2011, 02:11 PM
greenarrow's Avatar
September 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club
1995 Chevrolet Camaro
My Garage
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: On your back and in da sun yo!
Posts: 3,100
iTrader: (0)
Louie Tiedeman DaSandmanCometh
Send a message via MSN to greenarrow Send a message via Yahoo to greenarrow
Default

A stock TPS on a stock TB should not have any wiggle on it. Therefore no adjustments needed. But the only way to check is to check the voltage the TPS is sending out.
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 02:11 PM
Activity Stream
Activity Stream: Show All | New Threads | New Posts | New Pictures | Popular Threads | Lonely Threads | Vendor Threads | New Picture Comments | New Profile Comments |
Search:  
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
1997, 96, body, camaro, chevy, location, lt1, motor, position, problems, sensor, setting, test, throttle, tps, votage

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Emails Backup