New to me 97 Camaro 3.8 30th anniversary.

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2016, 11:49 PM
Default New to me 97 Camaro 3.8 30th anniversary.

My name is Will and I own a 97 Camaro 3.8 30th anniversary edition. When I bought it I was told it needed a timing chain and when I drained the oil I had more antifreeze then oil in the pan. I tore the front of the engine apart and it looked like the block had cracked right by the timing chain. The car has 237300 miles on it. The transmission has been rebuilt once I know for sure as it has the GM Goodwrench rebuild sticker on it. The metal magnet in the transmission pan was full of metal shavings. A little nervous but we will see. I would like to mention I am not a mechanic. I know the basics but full on I just don't have it. I decided that sense I was so poor and I would never have the money to pay for an engine swap I would try it myself. Found me another 3.8 liter out of a flipped 96 Camaro with 96156 miles on it for $450. Bought that engine about a year ago and been working on the car every sense. Good news is I have then engine back in the car and it starts and runs. Bad news is my check engine light is flashing. None of my vacuum lines are hooked up yet and I have a ground wire I'm not sure where it goes but I need to get it going last week. Looking for some friendly advice and maybe even things to expect to go wrong while finishing or parts expected to go bad from sitting. Thanks guys.

Old 01-21-2016, 04:14 AM
April 2011 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

first off download the factory service manual. go here, https://www.mediafire.com/?40mfgeoe4ctti use the 1996 file. be same as yours.

Last edited by craby; 01-21-2016 at 04:16 AM.
Old 01-21-2016, 09:06 AM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

Flashing Check engine light means you have a miss and the PCM is trying to warn you about damaging the Cat.