making smog legal for calif

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2009, 02:59 PM
Default making smog legal for calif

me and my dad are going for my first car and i am also looking into going into racing(professionally). But i would try to make this car smog legal.first of all, it will need Cats, how much are those? and i am talking to my camaro mechanic of what else it may need. Also does this car require the use of the OBD port when i get it tested for smog? I am new to the camaro so any info would be great!

Old 01-07-2009, 03:21 PM
HELP ME TOM CRUISE
Yaaarrrrrr
Default RE: making smog legal for calif

Welcome to the forum. There is alot going on so stay with me. Cats cost different depending on where you get them, however, what are you starting out with? You need an OBD port on later models (96 and up i think) to pass. We cant really tell you what you need unless we know what you already have. I am thinking you might need a new intake, or at least one with the egr boss.

Old 01-07-2009, 03:25 PM

it is a 1995 z28 camaro LT1.Here are the mods: It has a 6 Speed Manual T56 Transmission with Like New Stage 3 Racing Clutch. The Car is Black with Black Leather Interior, Power Leather Driver Seat, Corvette ZR1 Rims with like new Z Rated Tires , Short Shifter, KYB Shocks and Struts, Eibach Lowering Springs, SS Hood, 350 LT1 bored out to 355ci , SBC Speed Pro Forged Pistons 30over, Forged Rods, LT4 Hotcam, MSD Coil, BBK 58MM Throttle Body, Pacesetter Long Tube Headers, 3 Inch Exhaust Y Pipe, Flowmaster Muffler, Posi Rear End w/ stock gear ratio. New Upper And Lower Radiator Hoses.
please let me know if this helps. I have yet to purchase the car, but i am seriously planning on it.

Old 01-07-2009, 03:26 PM

it also has an edelbrock cam i believe.

Old 01-07-2009, 03:32 PM
ROTM Winner
ROTM Winner's Club