engine removal

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2010, 10:46 PM
1st Gear Member
Default engine removal

1992 Z28, 5 speed, 305, stock

I don't know exactly what to do. Last summer my car started knocking. I had two experienced, trustworthy mechanics listen, and both agreed that it was most definitely rod knock. Unfortunately, I go to school on the other side of the country, and I haven't had much time at home, so the car has been sitting in the garage for almost a year.

I have one month before I go back north. Assuming it is rod knock, but the damage isn't completely serious, is one month enough time to take out the engine, replace the crankshaft, bearings, and rods, and maybe do some other things while the engine is removed?

I've been working on the car for around 3 years, but the biggest engine job I've done so far is fuel injector replacement. Those of you who have pulled an engine before, how long did it take you to get it out of the car?

Also, any suggestions on other repair and maintenance I should perform while the engine is out? I'd like to install a more aggressive camshaft, might look into some other things, but I need to decide in the next couple of days and get to work.

Old 05-16-2010, 09:53 AM
3rd Gear Member

If you spun a rod, there is a very likely chance that your crank will need to be machined. If you go as far as to pull the crank, you should rebuild the engine. (Rings, etc). (putting a new bottom end on a worn engine is silly) My advice is to find a junkyard donor motor and drop it in. A simple engine swap can be done in about 4-5 days in your own garage, by yourself, with minimal experience. An engine rebuild, as you may be suggesting, is going to get real complicated and expensive and will go past your 1 month deadline (as you find little things wrong with it, it turns into order parts, wait for machine work, etc....)