74 back on the road?

Old 09-26-2015, 01:00 AM
Default 74 back on the road?

Hello, Brand new to the forum. Quick history. In Iraq bought 74 Camaro. Come to states and find not exactly what I wanted (go figure) roof hacked for T-tops but looks ok. engine and trans far off from factory. So it is a 454 out of a mid 80's one ton pick up. can some one please confirm believe that is a 4 bolt main. and 4 speed Muncie I know its the wide gear range is that an M22? Now the fun begins. Fast forward 4 years... Married wife, kids, house.. guess what sat for 3.5 years, that's right my car....... I look in the garage and feel disappointed but just never moved on it. Now I want it back on the road for spring and looking for advice. I'm a truck mechanic so not completely lost on this.. except what's spark? you mean this isn't a compression fire engine.. ok all joking aside, update options... I'm thinking oil, filter, lube, fuel, any obvious gasket leaks, maybe new distributor (what is the multi-spark and good brands?) Also live in MA (It is not enjoyable believe me) I have safety inspection and no reverse light operation, how did Muncie work these and website for parts please. Looking for engine dress up kit any suggestions I want it to look like its not new and from china. Also any thoughts on bringing roof back to hard top? Might of missed some updates feel free to enlighten a diesel mechanic.

Old 09-26-2015, 08:40 PM
Second Generation Moderator
Feb 2010 ROTM winner
Jan 2013 ROTM winner
ROTM Winner's Club

Originally Posted by Dave619