Late 2nd Gen Engine

Old 07-04-2015, 01:29 AM
Default Late 2nd Gen Engine

I am new to the muscle car scene, my first car a 1995 camaro. Now I am ready to purchase my own car, and the late 2nd gen Camaros have really caught my eye. My main concern is the engine. After 1975 the hp ratings are not impressive at all. Now is the stock engine worth changing and tuning to improve horse or am I better off messing with a completely different engine? Any help is appreciated and I apologize in advance for my ignorance of mechanical workings.

***EDIT***
I appreciate all the help you guys have offered, it has been very useful. I'm still looking for that perfect 2nd gen. So when I do get the car, what do you guys think would be the most important things to improve on or change? I'm not quite sure how ti prioritize what all will need to be done like new suspension, cam, headers, exhaust, electrical fan ect. So what do you gear heads think?

Last edited by YoungMuscle; 07-26-2015 at 01:26 PM.
Old 07-04-2015, 07:10 AM
1st Gear Member

That for gen. motor has been around for a long time and is easy to make all the HP you can handle on a budget price. Do what you want starting with a mild 350 and work you way up to a 434 inch SBC. The first thing with any 350 is a cam and heads with a good exhaust and your set.

Old 07-04-2015, 08:40 AM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

Your 95 is what I call a engine specific car. To me that means the engine was designed to fit into that car. In the 50's, 60's,70s and 80's GM built open architecture cars. That meant the engines are interchangeable. All second gen Camaros are open architecture. so you have a huge choice of what engine you put in there. Also there is a HUGE aftermarket support. So the question is what do you want out of the car and what is your budget. Just don't say I want as much HP as possible,