which clutch/flywheel?

Old 11-23-2009, 03:32 PM
2nd Gear member
Default which clutch/flywheel?

hello everyone, i have a 1978 Camaro with a 350 4spd, i need to change the flywheel bc the teeth are all kinds of chewed up, while im down there i figured replace the god knows how old clutch and what not, i need to know what size flywheel i probably have, and the auto store said its either a 10' or 11' clutch, a coarse or fine pattern, im new to manual trannies so idk what that means lol it takes them a few days to order the parts and i dont want to take off the parts and measure them to find out, i can still push start 'er after all lol thank you.

Old 11-23-2009, 08:16 PM
Second Generation Moderator
Feb 2010 ROTM winner
Jan 2013 ROTM winner
ROTM Winner's Club

I'm afraid we'd be guessing too. I doubt if you've got an 11" clutch, but it's possible. I think you're better off to jack it up and pull the inspection cover to check what you have first.
Are you in a pretty remote location that your auto parts store could take more than a day to get the parts in? My local NAPA will have just about any cluth, flywheel, and pressure plate in the next day.

Old 11-23-2009, 09:27 PM
2nd Gear member

no im in a pretty built up area, the napa will have it next day, but the advance auto parts is cheaper but they take like two days for some reason, and i didnt think anyone could tell me what exactly i have, but rather tell me how to check what i have. i have changed an auto tranny before but im not sure where everything is located on this.

Old 11-23-2009, 09:59 PM
Y2K
4th Gear Member

You can get a new ring gear without the flywheel for about $30.
Not sure what NAPA or a machine shop would charge to install it but it may be less that buying a whole flywheel.

Old 11-23-2009, 10:34 PM
Overdrive Member