68 starts but needs gas

Old 08-26-2015, 06:08 PM
Default 68 starts but needs gas

I'm a bit of a novice with this stuff so bear with me.
I just got this '68 and trying to get it running. The issue is that I can get the engine started but need to feed it gas for it to stay running.
Here is the video
Couple of things to note:
I took the carb apart and cleaned it but it's pretty much behaving the same way
The electric choke is not hooked up but I manually opened it. Note that at the end of the video I closed it and it smoked up a bit.

Any suggestions?

Old 08-27-2015, 05:58 AM
4th Gear Member

1. Open throttle to WOT and turn choke cap to close the choke plate and this will also set the fast idle cam on pass side.
You might even screw in fast idle screw just in case. Cap shows you a reference place to start.
2. hook up electric choke - power lead form IGN post of fuse box, other lead to vac cover screw for ground completing the circuit.
3. Engine should start and when it does, loosen choke cap screws and turn cap in direction needed - instructions on cap LEAN CW/RICH CCW.

As engine runs and choke heats up - choke plate opens - hit throttle and carb will go to curb idle.
Next morning, retest and make adjustments of choke lean/rich to keep engine running.
Holley has instructions for this on their site.

Old 08-27-2015, 07:15 AM

Thank's Everett, I'll try that.

Old 08-27-2015, 07:48 AM
Senior Moderator
January 2010 ROTM Winner

One thing you didn't mention is whether the engine still acts like this once it's warmed up or not? Does it level out and run/idle smooth with a hot engine and open choke?

Old 08-27-2015, 01:47 PM