Stock 68 camaro/Newbie/Tons of questions.

Old 10-30-2016, 08:38 AM
Default Stock 68 camaro/Newbie/Tons of questions.

Hello everyone,
I am pretty new to the Camaro scene as far as owner wise but have always loved them, so if could imagine my excitement when I was given the opportunity to purchase one. Caught up in passion I didn't really check the car out, I just took him upon his word...which all was not correct. That was several years ago. I tinkered with it a few and never got anywhere, seemed like my knowledge and skill were no match for the car and I ended up burning myself out on her. Many days/nights of cussing and knuckle busting. I just recently reignited the passion and she has been slowly coming back together. After admitting defeat I sent her to the shop to get some regular TLC and get her back on the road. Sorry for the long back story but just to kind of fill you in on my knowledge of car if you ask questions. Which I dubbed her Christine, but after going through her I'm thinking it should be Frankenstein, for the fact that shes been just thrown together just to sell part wise/now 95% of the car is original, just mainly the motor and transmission are not ... With all that being said... I was changing the pitman arm yesterday and I noticed when I was jacking it up the passenger side tire is tilting in slightly, I'm guessing the upper control arm bushing are bad? But with that being said if I replace the bushings wouldn't it just be better to replace upper and lower control arms (both sides) while I'm at it? I mean since I'm already digging into the front end. And if so, what brand would you prefer.

Thank you. Sorry for the 10 page essay.

Old 10-30-2016, 09:10 AM
1st Gear Member