Same old question, but serious...

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2014, 10:27 AM

Originally Posted by Gorn
...You can clean out the gas tank run your own hand made fuel and brake lines patch and rust holes, rebuild the existing brakes through a LM7 (5.3) out of a 01 suburban and be going down the road strong for under 2k plus the price of the car. ... Or you can spend 50k returning every detail back to near perfect and be scared to park anywhere unattended.
I usually fall somewhere in between those two extremes. I usually trade time for money, and spent a lot of hours combing classifieds, swap meets, and the internet for good deals on parts, repair and rebuild what I can (which is a lot, I'm also a budding machinist), and save the pretty for the very last thing. As long as the car is all one color I'll happily roll with faded and chipped paint and a few dings for years as I clean up the chassis, engine compartment, and other areas. Just because of the amount of money I allocate for my retirement savings, I won't be putting more than a couple thousand dollars a year into this or any other toy. That's the nice thing about hobbies though, right? All I need to do is occupy my time and feel good about my progress and it's a success

Old 10-15-2014, 06:52 PM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

I realize the beater concept is not for everyone. Truthfully it is new to me. My 67 is mostly stock except for the radio and some shinnies on the motor so I have never actually built a beater car I was just trying to point out that you do not have to follow the main stream.