new to here - just got a 68

Old 10-20-2014, 05:27 PM
Default new to here - just got a 68

Picked up a 1968 convertible from 2nd owner.
Not RS or SS. Very very clean car.

zz383 crate motor with ~10k miles. Transmission brand new. Power disc brakes/steering. No rust anywhere, paint good, new tires, top. Everything works, runs perfect. I'll post some pictures when I can a chance.

I paid $26k.
Seem fair? it did to me because everything I looked at seemed like junk but I'm no camaro guru.

So now the list begins. Little things like loose mirrors, blue interior, windows don't quite seal up to top. Rattle here and there.

Only thing I've noticed so far is the blinkers don't blink. They just have a solid light. i think the guy did it by hand or just didn't use blinkers.

My first convertible and I love it!

Old 10-20-2014, 05:45 PM
2nd Gear member

congratulations!!!!!
best year too

Old 10-20-2014, 05:52 PM

thanks! total noob question. Why is 68 the best?
I know 69 they changed some things and I thought it was more sought after.

Love the car, best purchase I made in a long time.

Old 10-20-2014, 06:05 PM
2nd Gear member
Talking

Originally Posted by CaCruiser
thanks! total noob question. Why is 68 the best?
I know 69 they changed some things and I thought it was more sought after.

Love the car, best purchase I made in a long time.
Why is 68 the best? because you have one.

Old 10-20-2014, 06:25 PM

Haha! Also the year I was born so yeah, best year for me.

Old 10-20-2014, 08:35 PM
1st Gear Member

Your a victim and don't know it yet... Visits here will begin to add to the must haves list. Fixing one thing leads to more repairs and more money.... I too am a victim... and as too 26k think of it as a down payment...

Old 10-20-2014, 10:22 PM
1st Gear Member

Congrats on getting your '68 it's a great year! And Ice is right about it just starting.... but driving a 1st Gen can be great!

Old 10-20-2014, 11:12 PM

I know how it is...thats kind of the fun of it.