DZ Motor??

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2015, 07:38 PM
Default DZ Motor??

Hello all, so I have inherited a chevy 302 dz motor...its apart...I've got a lot of pieces here LOL...my question is...I'm a newbie to wrenching and honestly don't know if I have the time or money to put into this motor....would it be worth it to rebuild it?? Or is it not? If it is where should I start? Figure I will need a Chilton's book LOL...if not what should I sell it for and where do I do that?? I can't imagine eBay would be the place to sell a motor!?!? Any help appreciated. Thank you!

Old 01-20-2015, 09:27 AM
1st Gear Member

If you have a matching numbers engine for the Camaro it goes to rebuild it. If not scratch the whole thing its only worth it to the car it matches. If you don't know what your doing dump the motor for 100 and move on...

Old 01-20-2015, 10:02 AM
Senior Moderator
January 2010 ROTM Winner

Dump it for $100? Answer your doorbell, it's me!
A complete DZ engine, in rebuildable condition, is worth close to $5k. A complete rebuilt one, carb to pan, is close to $10k.

Old 01-20-2015, 12:09 PM
4th Gear Member

Go to Camaro Research Group as they have a 'Lost Registry' and look up the VIN from the pad matching with a Camaro, and/or list your engine VIN for the Camaro owner may get the born-with engine back.

You know of any history of the engine source - how it got there?
May lead you closer to the numbers matching Camaro.

Old 01-20-2015, 04:49 PM
1st Gear Member

Completely rebuilt its worth 5k, and it costs about 4 to 5k to get it completely rebuilt, new pistons etc.... If its not a numbers matching engine most people are better served to dump the old block. It may not be rebuild able, and your going to sink money to find that out. I do agree for a engine builder and someone with experience that knows what they are doing its going to be marginal to make the investment to try and flip it for profit.

Old 01-21-2015, 07:44 AM