67 Camaro 350 v8, car newbie

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2014, 09:09 AM
In the Staging Lanes
Default 67 Camaro 350 v8, car newbie

I just bought a 67 camaro, rebuilt 350 v8/350 auto trans,holley 4 barrel. this weekend. I am a complete car newbie, so i'm learning as i go. Car was running great, sounded good, shifting good, no issues at all. Guy i bought it from said he used only non-ethanol gas. Well I filled up with premium gas from the local station that has ethanol in it. Yesterday i went for a drive to the store and on the way back i noticed that it was idling a little rough and as long as i kept my foot on the peddle and rpms up some it was fine. When i was pulling into the carport and took my foot off the gas in drive it stalled on me. It started back up. I noticed after filling up too that when i restart the car after being warm i have to put my foot on the gas peddle, and when we went for a test drive that day after it was warm a single turn of the key and it started up.... So is this the fuel i used or is it something else going on? Do i siphon out the gas and put in non ethanol and go from there?

Thanks ahead of time for all the info!
And yes, i fell in love at first sight with this car, my wife is jealous!

Old 10-29-2014, 10:29 AM
2nd Gear member

I run 93 0ctane regular pump gas in mine with no problems
filter?
fuel pump pressure?
how long has the car been sitting before you bought it?

Old 10-29-2014, 10:46 AM
In the Staging Lanes

fuel filter is new, not sure about air filter. The car was driven around once a month by the previous owner. I don't know fuel pump pressure. After it stalled at the house it fired right back up, but is idling a little rough

Old 10-29-2014, 11:23 AM
Senior Moderator
January 2010 ROTM Winner

Sounds like your choke might not be set/working correctly, which can explain why the cold engine runs rough but it's fine when warm.