454 won't get warm

Old 03-08-2014, 01:41 PM
Default 454 won't get warm

OK so I know this is going to sound crazy. Most people have problems keeping their big block cool and I can't mine to warm up…

I have a 454 bored .100 over freshly rebuilt. The motor runs great and strong however It will not get over 140 degrees. I have a 180 degree thermostat in motor. electric water pump, 3 row ( brand new ) radiator with electric fans set to come on at 180 degrees.

I have driven the car for up to an hour and the temp still never gets above 140 degrees.

I have replaced the temp sensor, and thermostat twice just to make sure one or both were not the problem.

Any Ideas or help would be greatly appreciated .

Old 03-08-2014, 02:59 PM
Tech Droid

If the t'stat is working properly it should let the temp raise. Make sure the t'stat is installed properly and that there no extra bypasses around it (most set ups have a small bypass around the t'stat so that it reacts faster to coolant temp change when engine is still cold). Could also be a bad temp gauge or a mismatch between the sender. Verify gauge by removing radiator cap and sticking an oven thermometer in coolant. Wait till t'stat opens and coolant flows, then see if the temp readings match.

Old 03-09-2014, 08:08 AM
4th Gear Member

And along with Pete's suggestions, use a temp gun and measure t/housing before and after t/stat opens.
Check t/stat in a pan of water on the stove ensuring it does open at temp stamped and fully open 10° above.

Old 03-09-2014, 10:05 AM
Second Generation Moderator
Feb 2010 ROTM winner
Jan 2013 ROTM winner
ROTM Winner's Club

And if everything checks out, and it still wont get higher, try blocking part of the radiator temporarily with cardboard to see if the temp rises then. I've never had trouble getting a BBC to get warm enough!

Old 03-09-2014, 10:44 AM